Designed by Thomas Jackson and built 1851 by W. Graham at a cost of approximately £3,000. The building comprised four ground floor commercial units and a large exchange room on the upper floor.
The Corn Exchange Development Company submitted a planning application (Z/1998/2254) in May 1998 proposing to retain the listed front facade (ref: HB26/50/173), demolish the building behind and construct a new four storey office building. The application was approved in September 1998.
Russell Simpson Construction carried out the £1.2m redevelopment works between 1999 – 2000.
The Northern Bank occupied the building from 2000 until c2010.
The Department for Culture, Arts & Leisure opened a £340,000 Discover Ulster-Scots Visitor Centre at the ground floor in November 2014. The Ulster-Scots Agency and associated library and archive occupy the first floor.